Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

NHS Choir members qualify for State

January 25, 2023 - 00:00
Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Courtesy photo The Navasota Rattler Choir is sending five soloists to State. Every solo received a superior rating and both ensembles received excellent ratings. Eleven students received medals. Pictured bottom row left to right: Gabriella Almanza, Keyana Richardson, Rey'shanica Reed, Ja'marion Ausby, Azariah Dyson. Middle row: AJ Flores, Abigail Mahan, Raymundo Diaz, Lizeth Corona, Hannah Silcox, Kameron Williams. Top row: Lilyanne Randolph, Da'veian Hutchinson, Jalen Jackson, Iyana Warren, NHS Choir Director Jason Mincy.

Eleven Navasota High School Choir members medaled at the Regional Solo & Ensemble contest and five qualified for State. 


To qualify for the Texas State Solo & Ensemble Competition on May 29 in Austin, students must perform a class 1 solo or ensemble piece and receive a superior rating. Freshman Jalen Jackson, senior Keyana Richardson, and juniors Abigail Mahan, Raymundo Diaz and Rey’shanica Reed each advanced to State.


Ratings are given based on a 1-5 scale – 1 (superior), 2 (excellent), 3 (good), 4 (needs improvement) and 5 (poor).


All NHS soloists achieved a 1 rating. Those soloists include Gabriella Almanza, Keyana Richardson, Rey’shanica Reed, Ja’marion Ausby, AJ Flores, Abigail Mahan, Reymundo Diaz, Hannah Silcox, Lilyanne Randolph, Jalen Jackson and Iyana Warren.


Ensemble members earned a 2 rating. The ensemble includes Keyana Richardson, Ja’marion Ausby, Azariah Dyson, Abigail Mahan, Lizeth Corona, Kameron Williams, Da’veian Hutchinson and Jalen Jackson.