Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
less than
1 minute
Read so far

Mayor, alderman take oaths in Plantersville

Posted in:
  • Article Image Alt Text
    Photo special to The Examiner Pictured L-R: Judge Lester Underwood, Mayor Karen Hale and Aldermen Marilyn Bettes, Kristin Keyser-Mayton, Frank Dean. Kimberly Allphin and Otis Greenwood.

The City of Plantersville met Monday, May 13, for its regular monthly meeting at Plantersville Town Hall. The Mayor and Aldermen canvassed the votes for its second election of City Officials for Plantersville May

4. They certified the count to be correct and proceeded with installation of all city officials. Judge Lester Underwood, justice of the peace Precinct 2, administered the oath of office to each member of the council. Mayor Karen Hale was the first to take the oath followed by Alderman Kimberly Allphin, Marilyn Bettes, Frank Dean, Otis Greenwood and Kristina Keyser-Mayton.

As prescribed by state law the mayor’s term is for two years. The Aldermen then drew lots for which two members would serve two-year terms and which three would serve one-year terms. This process establishes the staggered terms for future elections to insure continuity on the council. Two-year terms will be served by Kimberly Allphin and Otis Greenwood while Marilyn Bettes, Frank Dean and Kristina Keyser-Mayton will each serve for one year and be up for re-election in May 2020. Following the installation ceremony, the council returned to its regular posted agenda.