Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

Robert Raines Chapter Awards Luncheon

May 17, 2023 - 00:00
Posted in:

The local Robert Raines Chapter NSDAR finished the 2022-2023 year with a commemorative event and awards luncheon April 29 at FBC in Navasota.

The speaker, Denise Bennett, came dressed as Adrienne, wife of the Marquis de Lafayette, Regent Kathy Cave Wells attended as Martha Washington (her first cousin 7x removed), and SAR member John Thompson attended as the Marquis de Lafayette, in honor of the final farewell tour by the Marquis de Lafayette.

Lafayette, as Americans refer to him, was a French aristocrat and military officer who fought in the American Revolutionary War, commanding American troops in several battles, including the siege of Yorktown. After returning to France, he was a key figure in the French Revolution of 1789 and the July Revolution of 1830. He has been considered a national hero in both countries. He was like a son to George Washington and named his oldest son after the American General and 1st President of the United States. The lunch was catered by Mary Lavender who also made a chocolate and white tiered cake. The tables were decorated in the colors of the French royalty during the 18th century. A French themed photo booth was available, and the chapter offered children’s books about Lafayette for purchase to be donated to local schools. A silent auction was held to fund chapter projects such as veteran hospital hygiene kits, special awards for Grimes County participants in the annual Brazos Valley History Fair, Wreaths Across America Grimes County, CCS food bank donations, book donations for local schools and libraries, school supplies for local teachers, and much more.

Good Citizen awards for Grimes County high school graduating seniors were awarded to Scott McDougald of Iola High School who also won the essay contest, McKensie Crawford of Navasota High School, and Ryan Wrobleski of Richards High School. The Anderson Shiro recipient will receive all of their awards at a later date. Each student was given a pin and a graduation cord. Monetary awards and certificates are given at each school’s awards program. Homeschooler and Pocahontas Society NSCAR member Reagan Meredith received the chapter award for the American History Essay contest.

The Texas Society DAR state-approved Community Service award was given posthumously to Carl Dry and was accepted by his wife and daughter, making it a very emotional moment for all attending who knew Carl. The Community Service award is rarely given and must be applied for and approved by the state committee chairman.

Four members received tenure certificates who together have been members of DAR for over a cumulative total of 165 years. Laura Purcell, 65 years, Hazel Cannon, 60 years, Dorothy Hassell, 30 years and Marcy Frede, 10 years. Only two were present to receive their certificates.

The 2023-2025-chapter officers were installed by Texas Society DAR Recording Secretary Shirley Bland. They are Vanessa Burzynski, Regent, Marilyn Bettes, 1st Vice Regent, Susan Boudreaux, Chaplain, Connie Clements, Recording Secretary, Jeanie Mayfield, Treasurer, Jeanann Goss, Registrar, Hazel Cannon, Historian, Suzette Moser, Librarian and Carol Gessner, Parliamentarian. Kathy Cave Wells, outgoing Regent, was appointed 2nd Vice Regent by Regent Vanessa Burzynski following the meeting.

For more information about Robert Raines Chapter NSDAR email, robertraineschaptertxdar@ or follow on Facebook.