Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.
Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

New Historical Committee members named

Posted in:

ANDERSON — The Grimes County Historical Committee playse a vital role in preserving the history of Grimes County and commissioners moved to add two new members Joe Fauth III and Al Peeler to two-year terms to begin Jan. 1.

Current members remaining on the committee are Margaret Bailey, Susan Boudreaux, Vanessa Burzynski, Betty Dunn, Bob Goldstein, John Maxwell, Robin Montgomery, Sarah Nash, Denise Upchurch and Hazel Weidman. The addition of the two new members raises the committee total to 13.

Fauth said conflicts with schedules and health issues has made it difficult at times to have a full quorum. In a December meeting, only three members were able to attend. Adding new citizens as members will make it easier to conduct business.

IT security revised

The county approved the addition of three new policies and standards for the county as recommended by IT Director Greg Cannon.

The Grimes County Acceptable Use Policy, Grimes County Email Policy and the Grimes County Data Protection Standard will replace the Computer and Internet Usage policy currently in place.

We’re not trying to be very restrictive,” explained Cannon. “I’m actually trying to be very laxed on the usage of the system. I feel we need to have some policy in place that says you can use systems and you can use software that’s purchased by the county in this fashion.”

Cannon has been working diligently to re-establish and implement new ways to maintain the integrity and security of the counties data base. These policies will help provide more uniformed guidelines for acceptable uses of the counties systems and software.

“The idea is just to set some kind of standard that says if you are going to use a county computer this is the acceptable way to use it,” said Cannon.

Participation plan

moving forward

Commissioners adopted the citizen participation plan related to the Texas General Land Office Community Development Block Grant Disaster Recovery (CDBG-DR) Program.

This block grant is for Hurricane Harvey victims, and will be used for infrastructure improvements and buyouts. Three key factors are needed for a buyout option to be eligible — the individual has to own the home and property, has to have been impacted by Harvey and show proof of the damage and the home has to be in a defined flood zone.Currently, less than 10 Grimes County citizens are eligible for the buyout.

Atkins on hold

The contract approval with Atkins for administrative services for the Grimes County Hazard Mitigation Plan is on hold pending further review. A copy of the contract was received later than expected and will be placed on a future agenda.

Land sale and acquisition

Commissioners convened into closed session considering the sale of county property on FM 2445 and possible acquisition of land on State Highway 90. No action was taken after returning from closed session.

Message from the judge

Fauth wanted to remind citizens to stay safe this holiday season.

“Put a little patience in your pocket and remember it’s better to be a few minutes late,” said Fauth. “Unthought-of actions could prevent you or others to not arrive at all.”